Monday, August 31, 2015

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? #69


This meme comes from Book Journey, and it is where you show what books you read last week and what you will be reading this week.



Books I Read This Week:

Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa (4 Stars)
Superman Red Son (4 Stars)
Dumplin' by Julie (5 Stars)

2403939615479818304322

Number of Pages:

912

Saturday, August 29, 2015

Stacking the Shelves/Weekly Update #67

 


Reviews:

Fans of the Impossible Life: Review


Library:

Hold Me Like a Breath by Tiffany Schmidt
Dumplin' by Julie Murphy
Cut Both Ways by Carrie Mesrobian
237187361830432218584521

Bought (Textbook Edition):

Superman Red Son
Yummy by G. Neri
Pretty Deadly Vol. 1

18373340323948720638291

For Review:

Friday, August 28, 2015

Review: Fans of the Impossible Life by Kate Scelsa.



24039396Summary from Goodreads:

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can’t get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she’s with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who’s been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn, it’s as if he’s been expecting this blond, lanky boy with mischief glinting in his eye.

Sebby, Mira’s gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him. Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira’s world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don’t understand their quest to live for the impossible.

My Review:

I randomly picked up the ARC of this September 15 release at my university library and enjoyed it quite a bit.

I'm not a huge fan of multiple POVS (mainly because they are overused) but this debut did a great job writing great characters that did not have the same personalities.

My favorite character was Jeremy, but it was hard to just pick one of them, each had a unique story and character development. I loved the fact that the author tackled a lot of hard subjects like mental illness, diverse characters, and her writing was amazing.

I recommend checking out this new author.

My Rating:

Four Stars Out of Five.

Friday Meme: Books/Movies/Games Coming Out Next Week That I Want To Read/See/Play # 25

Books: 

18006496Queen of Shadows (#4) by Sarah J. Maas

Summary from Goodreads:

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she's at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past . . .

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die just to see her again. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen's triumphant return.

Celaena’s epic journey has captured the hearts and imaginations of millions across the globe. This fourth volume will hold readers rapt as Celaena’s story builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.
 

My Notes:

I'm so excited!!!!!!



Games: 

Until Dawn for PS4.



My Notes: 

The game takes you inside of a B horror film where the player makes the choices. This game came out on the 25th and I'm super excited to get my hands on it.

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday # 68



"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you pick a book that is coming out soon that you want to read.


23203744
Summary from Goodreads:

A boldly surreal novel from one of the best YA writers working today.

Four talented teenagers are traumatized-coping with grief, surviving trauma, facing the anxiety of standardized tests and the neglect of self-absorbed adults—and they'll do anything to escape the pressure. They'll even build an invisible helicopter, to fly far away to a place where everyone will understand them... until they learn the only way to escape reality is to fly right into it.

My Notes:

I can't wait to read her next novel.




Wishlist Wednesday # 68



Wishlist Wednesday is where you show a book that has been on your wishlist/TBR list for a while, the meme is hosted by Pen to Paper.


9419Summary from Goodreads:

Life has been good for Becky Bloomwood: She’s become the best personal shopper at Barneys, she and her successful entrepreneurial boyfriend, Luke, are living happily in Manhattan’s West Village, and her new next-door neighbor is a fashion designer! But with her best friend, Suze, engaged, how can Becky fail to notice that her own ring finger is bare? Not that she’s been thinking of marriage (or diamonds) or anything . . . Then Luke proposes! Bridal registries dance in Becky’s head. Problem is, two other people are planning her wedding: Becky’s overjoyed mother has been waiting forever to host a backyard wedding, with the bride resplendent in Mum’s frilly old gown. While Luke’s high-society mother is insisting on a glamorous, all-expenses-paid affair at the Plaza. Both weddings for the same day. And Becky can’t seem to turn down either one. Can everyone’s favorite shopaholic tie the knot before everything unravels?

My Notes:

I bought the third and fourth books last year and need to finally finish this series.

Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That Would Be On Your Syllabus If You Taught Classics 101 # 68



1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.
1885
2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.
10210
3. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.
4671
4. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck.
890
5. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley.

18490

6. Persuasion by Jane Austen.
2156
7. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas.
7126
8. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley.
5129
9. Macbeth by William Shakespeare.
8852
10. East of Eden by John Steinbeck.
4406

Monday, August 24, 2015

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? #68


This meme comes from Book Journey, and it is where you show what books you read last week and what you will be reading this week.



Books I Read This Week:

Half a King by Joe Abercrombie (4 Stars)
Made in the USA by Billie Letts (3 Stars)


186660472240527


Number of Pages: 691

What I Want to Read:

23009402

Sunday, August 23, 2015

Review: Half a King (#1) by Joe Abercrombie


18666047
Summary from Goodreads:

Betrayed by his family and left for dead, Prince Yarvi, reluctant heir to a divided kingdom, has vowed to reclaim a throne he never wanted.

But first he must survive cruelty, chains and the bitter waters of the Shattered Sea itself - all with only one good hand. Born a weakling in the eyes of a hard, cold world, he cannot grip a shield or swing an axe, so has sharpened his mind to a deadly edge.

Gathering a strange fellowship of the outcast, he finds they can help him more than any noble could. Even so, Yarvi's path may end as it began - in twists, traps and tragedy...
 

My Review:

I'm glad that I decided to finally pick of this fantasy novel (and try out this author) and will be reading the other novels in this series.

The main character Yarvi was great and I rooted for the 'half' king (because of his deformed hand) and the ending was pretty interesting. The cliffhanger has me dying to get my hands on the next novel.

I only wish that the book had more fantasy elements, the fights and struggles were interesting but I wanted more fantasy.

I recommend checking this series out if you enjoy Game of Thrones or Brandon Sanderson.

My Rating:

Four Stars Out of Five

Stacking the Shelves/Weekly Update #66








For Review:

22065512

Thursday, August 20, 2015

Wishlist Wednesday # 67



Wishlist Wednesday is where you show a book that has been on your wishlist/TBR list for a while, the meme is hosted by Pen to Paper.



15723286
Summary from Goodreads:

Does one need four fully grown foxgloves for decorating a dinner table for six guests? Or is it six foxgloves to kill four fully grown guests?

Sophronia's first year at Mademoiselle Geraldine's Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality has certainly been rousing! For one thing, finishing school is training her to be a spy--won't Mumsy be surprised? Furthermore, Sophronia got mixed up in an intrigue over a stolen device and had a cheese pie thrown at her in a most horrid display of poor manners.

Now, as she sneaks around the dirigible school, eavesdropping on the teachers' quarters and making clandestine climbs to the ship's boiler room, she learns that there may be more to a field trip to London than is apparent at first. A conspiracy is afoot--one with dire implications for both supernaturals and humans. Sophronia must rely on her training to discover who is behind the dangerous plot-and survive the London Season with a full dance card.

In this sequel to New York Times bestselling Etiquette & Espionage, class is back in session with more petticoats and poison, tea trays and treason. Gail's distinctive voice, signature humor, and lush steampunk setting are sure to be the height of fashion this season.
 

My Notes:

It has been a while since I finished the first novel and need to finally start reading this one.

Waiting on Wednesday # 67



"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, where you pick a book that is coming out soon that you want to read.


23705512
Summary from Goodreads:

From online entertainment mogul, actress, and “queen of the geeks” Felicia Day, a funny, quirky, and inspiring memoir about her unusual upbringing, her rise to Internet-stardom, and embracing her individuality to find success in Hollywood.

The Internet isn’t all cat videos. There’s also Felicia Day—violinist, filmmaker, Internet entrepreneur, compulsive gamer, hoagie specialist, and former lonely homeschooled girl who overcame her isolated childhood to become the ruler of a new world…or at least semi-influential in the world of Internet Geeks and Goodreads book clubs.

After growing up in the south where she was "homeschooled for hippie reasons", Felicia moved to Hollywood to pursue her dream of becoming an actress and was immediately typecast as a crazy cat-lady secretary. But Felicia’s misadventures in Hollywood led her to produce her own web series, own her own production company, and become an Internet star.

Felicia’s short-ish life and her rags-to-riches rise to Internet fame launched her career as one of the most influential creators in new media. Now, Felicia’s strange world is filled with thoughts on creativity, video games, and a dash of mild feminist activism—just like her memoir.

Hilarious and inspirational, You’re Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) is proof that everyone should embrace what makes them different and be brave enough to share it with the world, because anything is possible now—even for a digital misfit.

My Notes:

I love Felicia Day, mainly from Supernatural, can't wait to pick this up.

Monday, August 17, 2015

It's Monday! What Are You Reading? #67


This meme comes from Book Journey, and it is where you show what books you read last week and what you will be reading this week.

I worked all week, and start school next week, so reading might not happen at all.

Books I Read This Week:

Attack on Titan Vol. 9
Attack on Titan Vol. 10
More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera (4 Stars)

195428411807795518077956

Word Count: 677

Books I Want to Read/Finish/Currently Reading:

188832316654313