Tuesday, January 1, 2019

2018 Netgalley Challenge

2018 Netgalley Challenge!

I'm giving myself a challenge this year! I'm so sick of having unread netgalley arcs sitting on my kindle, and having a low rating on the website for the lack of ratings. So, I have around 100 books left to get through, not counting the future approvals, that I want to read this year and get my score to 100%!! If you are in the same boat as me, join in and we will together try and read all of the ARCS! :)


TBR:

2018 Debut Author Challenge

 Hosted by ThatArtsyReaderGirl

Completed: 1


2018 New Release Challenge

2018 New Release Challenge

2018 New Release Challenge logoHosted by Lexxie @ Un-Conventional Book Views 

The rules for the 2017 New Release Challenge are simple:

Books have to be released and reviewed in 2017.
Other challenges can be used as well, if you are participating in the Netgalley / Edelweiss challenge or in the COYER challenge, books can count towards more than one challenge, as long as the ones you use for the 2017 New Release Reading Challenge qualify to the other rules.
The minimum length for a book to qualify is 100 pages, it can be in any format though, physical, e-book, ARC or audiobook.

The New Book Release Challenge is open from January 1st through December 31st 2017, and sign-ups are open until February 15th 2017.

You don’t have to be a blogger to participate, you can link to your review on Goodreads or Booklikes instead – so don’t be shy!

There are five levels  in the New Release Challenge:
1-30 books per year – New Release Newbie
31-60 books per year – New Release Pro
61-100 books per year – New Release Veteran
101-200 books per year – New Release Enthusiast
200+ books per year – New Release Obsessed

TBR:

Around the Year in 52 - 2018 Book Challenge

Around the Year in 52 - 2018 Challenge.

Completed Challenges: 19

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Review: Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1) by Sylvain Neuvel

25733990 Summary from Goodreads:

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?

An inventive debut in the tradition of World War Z and The Martian, told in interviews, journal entries, transcripts, and news articles, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by a quest for truth—and a fight for control of earthshaking power.

My Review:

Wednesday, April 18, 2018