Sunday, July 31, 2016

Review: This Savage Song (Monsters of Verity #1) by Victoria Schwab


26104278
Summary from Goodreads:

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from acclaimed author Victoria Schwaba young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books, This Savage Song is a must-have for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor.
Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives. In This Savage Song, Victoria Schwab creates a gritty, seething metropolis, one worthy of being compared to Gotham and to the four versions of London in her critically acclaimed fantasy for adults, A Darker Shade of Magic. Her heroes will face monsters intent on destroying them from every side—including the monsters within.

My Review:


I had a hard time getting into the novel, mainly because I did not connect with the main characters, however, I did enjoy it the further I got in.

It was interesting to get YA characters that were not good or evil but in the middle, and even a pov from a monster. The monsters in the novel, most of all August, who can steal your soul was well made and thrilling.

Despite a lack of connection I gave the novel four stars just for the plot and the original world that Schwab created and I will be keep reading the series.

Also, the fact that there was no romance in a YA novel was refreshing, and something I noticed in her novels/series that the romance if there is any is slow building.

The main thing I wanted more of was backstory of how monsters are created and more monsters/different settings then we got.

I recommend checking this series for the interesting plot and great world building, and if you enjoy Victoria Schwab's writing.

My Rating:

4 Stars Out of 5

No comments:

Post a Comment