Saturday, March 7, 2015

Review: All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven


18460392
Summary from Goodreads:

Theodore Finch is fascinated by death, and he constantly thinks of ways he might kill himself. But each time, something good, no matter how small, stops him.

Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister’s recent death.

When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at school, it’s unclear who saves whom. And when they pair up on a project to discover the “natural wonders” of their state, both Finch and Violet make more important discoveries: It’s only with Violet that Finch can be himself—a weird, funny, live-out-loud guy who’s not such a freak after all. And it’s only with Finch that Violet can forget to count away the days and start living them. But as Violet’s world grows, Finch’s begins to shrink.

This is an intense, gripping novel perfect for fans of Jay Asher, Rainbow Rowell, John Green, Gayle Forman, and Jenny Downham from a talented new voice in YA, Jennifer Niven.

My Review:

I tend to fly through books but I took my time with this one (books that take me a month or more to read tend to be some of my favorite reads of the year). I understand why it was compared to John Green because it is another in a line of YA novels that do not talk down to the readers.

I once again learned not to read sad novels in public places, I was tearing up in the middle of my college dining room. I had bad feeling about how it would end so I made sure to finish it in private just in case the tears overflowed. And of course they did.

This book really touched me, mainly because I can connect with the issues that both Violet and Finch face concerning mental issues (and how badly people treat you). The ending really crushes me into a million pieces and brought up some bad memories. I wouldn't suggest reading this novel if you are bothered by the subject matter. Even I had a hard time getting through the ending.



Only one downside that has nothing to do with the author/novel but with the printer, I didn't check the inside of the novel and found ink stains. :P

My Rating:

Five Stars Out of Five. (plus a million more)

No comments:

Post a Comment